Beaford Community

Primary and Nursery School

Beaford, Winkleigh, Devon EX19 8LJ

01805 603263

admin@beaford-primary.devon.sch.uk

EngageChallengePersevere

Governor Activities

As part of Governors ongoing work to monitor their areas of responsibility, Governors are involved throughout the year to visit the school.  These visits include:

  • Observing teaching and learning
  • Talking to pupils about their learning
  • Monitoring standards of attainment and progress of pupils with subject leaders and the headteacher
  • Evaluating action plans
  • Talking to subject leaders
  • Developing policy
  • Carrying out health and safety risk assessments
  • Internal audit

Governor Activities Autumn 2020

Full Governing Body Meeting AGM - Tuesday 22nd September 2020

Governor Induction - Tuesday 22nd September - Jim Thomas/Sam Doidge

Governor Update -Thursday  1st October - Saffron Murphy

New Governor Training - Tuesday 6th October - Jim Thomas

Lead Health & Safety governor visit - Wednesday 7th October - Jim Thomas

Full Governing Body Meeting -Thursday 15th October 2020

Lead Safeguarding Governor Visit - Tuesday 20th October

Chair and HT Meeting - Monday 9th November

Teaching and Learning monitoring visit - Tuesday 10th November

Lead SEND Governor visit - Monday 16th November

Full Governing Body Meeting - Thursday 19th November

SEND Governor Training - Tuesday 24th November - Jacque Ward, Saffron Murphy

Introduction to the Primary Curriculum Training - Tuesday 1st December - Saffron Murphy

Full Governing Body Meeting - Tuesday 15th December

Governor Activities Summer 2020

Due to school closure on the 20th March and partial reopening on the 1st June governors activities for this term have been suspended until it is safe to return to school.   Governors meetings have taken place via Zoom.

Full Governing Body Meeting Tuesday 28th April

Full Governing Body meeting - 12th may

Full Governing Body  Meeting May 21st

Resource Committee Meeting Tuesday 23rd June

Full Governing Body Meeting - Thursday 9th July

Governor Activities Spring 2020

Level 2 safeguarding training - Monday 6th January - Saffron Murphy

New Governor Induction (completed by Sam Doidge) - Tuesday 21st January - Saffron Murphy, Jaque Ward

Resource Committee Meeting - Tuesday 28th January 2020

Heads, Chairs and Clerks training - Thursday 30th January - Matthew Millichop, Emily Mayo, Helen Wright

Full Governing Body Meeting - Tuesday 4th February 2020

New Governor Training - Wednesday 12th February - Saffron Murphy, Jacque Ward

SEF Review and Ofsted Preparation Training - Tuesday 4th February - all governors

Teaching and Learning Committee Meeting - Tuesday 3rd March 2020

Safeguarding Governor Visit - Monday 9th March - Rachael Hopkins

Resource Committee Meeting - Tuesday 10th March 2020

Full Governing Body Meeting - Thursday 19th March 2020

Governor Monitoring Visit - Thursday 12th March 2020 - Rachael Hopkins, Saffron Murphy

Governor Activities Autumn 2019

Teaching and Learning Committee Meeting - Tuesday 10th September 2019

Full Governing Body AGM - Tuesday 17th September 2019

Safeguarding Level 2 Training - Matthew Millichope and Tamzin Drake

Governor Update Barnstaple - Matthew Millichope, Sam Doidge

SEND Governor Monitoring Visit - Tuesday 15th October - Tamzin Drake

Safeguarding Governor Monitoring Visit - Monday 4th November 2019 - Rachel Hopkins

Resource Committee Meeting - Tuesday 12th November

Teaching and Learning Committee Monitoring Visit - Tuesday 19th November

SEND Governor Training  - Tuesday 19th November - Tamzine Drake

Head Teacher Appraisal Training - Tuesday 19th November - Sam Doidge

Governor Monitoring visit (review of Pupil Premium)- Wednesday 20th November - Tamzin Drake, Rachael Hopkins

Full Governing Body Meeting - Tuesday 10th December

Governor Activities Summer 2019

Full Governing Body - June 2019

Full Governing Body Meeting - Wednesday 24th April 2019

Full Governing Body Meeting - 26th March 2019

Head Teacher and Governor Briefing - Matthew Millichope, Emily Mayo - Wednesday 1st May

Monitoring KS2 testing arrangements - Monday 13th May

Resource Committee Meeting - Tuesday 11th June

Full Governing Body Meeting - Tuesday 18th June

Safeguarding Termly Monitoring Visit - Hazel Warner - TBC

Send Termly Monitoring Visit - Alex Heal - TBC

Governor Activities Spring 2019

Resource Committee Meeting - Tuesday 22nd January

Full Governing Body Meeting - Tuesday 29th January

Data Training - Tuesday 29th  January

Induction for New Governor - Rachel Hopkins and Ceri Moore - Tuesday 29th January

New Governor Training - Rachel Hopkins and Ceri Moore - Thursday 14th March

Safeguarding Termly Monitoring Visit - Hazel Warner - Tuesday 26th February

Send Termly Monitoring Visit - Alex Heal - Tuesday 26th February

Resource Committee Meeting - Tuesday 19th March 

Full Governing Body Meeting - Tuesday 26th March 

Governor Activities Autumn 2018

Teaching & Learning Committee Meeting - Wednesday 12th September

Full Governing Body AGM - Tuesday 18th September

Governor Monitoring Visit (focus on reading) - Wednesday 3rd October - Mathew Millichope & Alex Heal

Resource Committee Meeting -Tuesday 9th October

Head Teacher Appraisal Training - Thursday 11th October - Mathew Millichope & Alex Heal

Safeguarding Termly Monitoring visit - Friday 19th October - Hazel Warner

Role of the Chair Training - Wednesday 31st October - Mathew Millichope & Alex Heal

Responsibilities of Safeguarding Lead Governor - Tuesday 6th November - Hazel Warner

Full Governing Body Meeting - Tuesday 13th November

Level 2 Safeguarding Training - Wednesday 14th November

Induction for New Governor Training - Tuesday 20th November - Hazel Warner

Resource Committee Meeting - 4th December

SEND Monitoring Visit - TBC