Beaford Community

Primary and Nursery School

Beaford, Winkleigh, Devon EX19 8LJ

01805 603263

admin@beaford-primary.devon.sch.uk

EngageChallengePersevere

Governor Activities

As part of Governors ongoing work to monitor their areas of responsibility, Governors are involved throughout the year to visit the school.  These visits include:

  • Observing teaching and learning
  • Talking to pupils about their learning
  • Monitoring standards of attainment and progress of pupils with subject leaders and the headteacher
  • Evaluating action plans
  • Talking to subject leaders
  • Developing policy
  • Carrying out health and safety risk assessments
  • Internal audit

Governor Activities Autumn 2019

Teaching and Learning Committee Meeting - Tuesday 10th September 2019

Full Governing Body AGM - Tuesday 17th September 2019

Safeguarding Level 2 Training - Matthew Millichope and Tamzin Drake

Governor Update Barnstaple - Matthew Millichope, Sam Doidge

SEND Governor Monitoring Visit - Tuesday 15th October - Tamzin Drake

Safeguarding Governor Monitoring Visit - Monday 4th November 2019 - Rachel Hopkins

Resource Committee Meeting - Tuesday 12th November

Teaching and Learning Committee Monitoring Visit - Tuesday 19th November

SEND Governor Training  - Tuesday 19th November - Tamzine Drake

Head Teacher Appraisal Training - Tuesday 19th November - Sam Doidge

Full Governing Body Meeting - Tuesday 10th December

Governor Activities Summer 2019

Full Governing Body Meeting - Wednesday 24th April 2019

Full Governing Body Meeting - 26th March 2019

Head Teacher and Governor Briefing - Matthew Millichope, Emily Mayo - Wednesday 1st May

Monitoring KS2 testing arrangements - Monday 13th May

Resource Committee Meeting - Tuesday 11th June

Full Governing Body Meeting - Tuesday 18th June

Safeguarding Termly Monitoring Visit - Hazel Warner - TBC

Send Termly Monitoring Visit - Alex Heal - TBC

Governor Activities Spring 2019

Resource Committee Meeting - Tuesday 22nd January

Full Governing Body Meeting - Tuesday 29th January

Data Training - Tuesday 29th  January

Induction for New Governor - Rachel Hopkins and Ceri Moore - Tuesday 29th January

New Governor Training - Rachel Hopkins and Ceri Moore - Thursday 14th March

Safeguarding Termly Monitoring Visit - Hazel Warner - Tuesday 26th February

Send Termly Monitoring Visit - Alex Heal - Tuesday 26th February

Resource Committee Meeting - Tuesday 19th March 

Full Governing Body Meeting - Tuesday 26th March 

Governor Activities Autumn 2018

Teaching & Learning Committee Meeting - Wednesday 12th September

Full Governing Body AGM - Tuesday 18th September

Governor Monitoring Visit (focus on reading) - Wednesday 3rd October - Mathew Millichope & Alex Heal

Resource Committee Meeting -Tuesday 9th October

Head Teacher Appraisal Training - Thursday 11th October - Mathew Millichope & Alex Heal

Safeguarding Termly Monitoring visit - Friday 19th October - Hazel Warner

Role of the Chair Training - Wednesday 31st October - Mathew Millichope & Alex Heal

Responsibilities of Safeguarding Lead Governor - Tuesday 6th November - Hazel Warner

Full Governing Body Meeting - Tuesday 13th November

Level 2 Safeguarding Training - Wednesday 14th November

Induction for New Governor Training - Tuesday 20th November - Hazel Warner

Resource Committee Meeting - 4th December

SEND Monitoring Visit - TBC

Governor Activities Summer 2018

Governor Induction - Tuesday 13th March - Hazel Warner

School Improvement Team Meeting - Tuesday 24th April

Monitoring KS2 testing arrangements - Monday 14th May

Governor Finance Training - Thursday 24th May - Matthew Millichope

Finance, Personnel, Premises and Safety Committee Meeting - Tuesday 12th June

Full Governing Body Meeting - Tuesday 19th June

Equality Monitoring Visit - Tuesday 26th June

Monitoring visit - SIP focus of maths and reading - Tuesday 3rd July

 School Improvement Team Meeting - Tuesday 17th July

Governor Activities for Spring 2018

Governor Activities for Autumn 2017

School Improvement Team Meeting - Monday 11th September 2017

Safer Recruitment Training - Monday 25th September - Sam Doidge

Full Governing Body AGM Thursday 28th September 2017

SEND monitoring Visit and Training. Friday 6th October - Alex Heal

School Improvement Team Monitoring Visit - Maths key skills and guided reading. Thursday 10th October - Alison Bennett, Alex Heal, Matthew Millichope

Site and Security visit - Friday 13th October - Matthew Millichope

Termly safeguarding visit - Monday 30th October - Jeffers Mayo

Finance, Personnel, Premises and Safety Committee Meeting - Tuesday 31st October

Full Governing Body Meeting - Tuesday 7th November

New Governor Training - Wednesday 8th November - Matthew Millichope

School Improvement Team Monitoring Visit - Follow up from Educational Consultant visit and opportunities for learning in depth in Foundation subjects.  Thursday 30th November - Alison Bennett, Alex Heal, Matthew Millichope

Governor Activities Summer 2017

School Improvement Team Meeting 24th April 2017

KS2 Test Monitoring Visits - 9th and 10th May 2017

Safeguarding Monitoring Visit - 16th May 2017 - Jeffers Mayo

Finance, Personnel, Premises and Safety Committee Meeting 22nd June 2017

Full Governing Body Meeting 29th June 2017

Governor Activities Spring 2017

School Improvement Team Meeting -  9th January 2017

Finance, Personnel, Premises and Safety Committee Meeting 26th January 2017

Full Governing Body meeting - 23rd February 2017

Finance, Personnel, Premises and Safety Committee Meeting 9th March 2017

Full Governing Body Meeting - 9th March 2017

School Improvement Team monitoring visit - Monday 13th March 2017 - Alison Bennett, Alex Heal, Jeffers Mayo